Lush Skincare Routine For Oily Skin

When it comes to Lush products I’ve tried and tested pretty much every bath bomb, bath oil, body scrub and shower gel available but the one thing I’ve never ventured into is their skincare range – until now.

Armed with a Christmas gift voucher I ventured into Lush Milton Keynes in search of my next favourite skincare routine, and with the help of a wonderful sales assistant I’ve found a 3-step cleanser, toner and moisturising routine to try, all suitable for oily skin. So here they are below. I’ve included the prices for the smallest bottles if you want to put all 3 together and try them yourself.

Herbalism (cleanser)

Nettles, rosemary and rice bran vinegar make this 100% natural cleanser smell a bit funky but ignore that because this cleanser does a great job of removing excess makeup and leaving my skin soft and bright. Lush say this cleanser uses Chamomile blue oil and rose for “balancing skin tone” and it seems to be doing the job so far. My skin appears less blotchy and the redness around my spots/bad skin patches has dulled.

Rice bran and ground almonds give this cleanser a grainy, clay-like consistence when its dry in the pot but just take a small ball and rub it around your hands with a bit of water and it’ll turn into a semi-gritty paste that exfoliates as well as cleanses. Wash off with warm water.

£7.25 for 100g. Buy from Lush.com

Breath of Fresh Air (toner water)

This toner smells like the sea in a bottle and when you look at the ingredients it’s no surprise why. Fresh Sea Water, Carrageenan Seaweed Extract and Seaweed Absolute create a fresh and salty scent in a cool toner that feels light and refreshing on the skin. It’s another product designed to balance skin tones with Rose Absolute and Patchouli Oil helping to reduce redness and cool the skin.

Apply this toner to makeup free, cleansed skin. You can spray it directly onto your face or onto a cotton pad to run over your face if you prefer. Lush also say you can use it as a mister in the summer but my pump seems to spray out quite a lot of toner so probably a bit too wet and seems like a bit of a waste.

£4.50 for 100g. Buy from Lush.com

Vanishing Cream (moisturiser)

This is probably my favourite product out of the 3 in this skincare routine as it really lives up to it’s name (and naturally it’s the most expensive).

Called the “Vanishing Moisturiser” it really does vanish into the skin. It’s cocoa butter-free which makes it super light and not sticky and it doesn’t leave any residue on your face at all which means you can use it in the morning under makeup as an extra barrier. It features Lavender, Neroli and Geranium essential oils so it also leaves a really subtle fragrance on your skin that’s not overpowering or unnatural smelling.

If you’re not a foundation wearer you can use this moisturiser at any point during the day for an extra hydration boost. It’s very thin, only takes a few seconds to absorb into the skin and, other than the light scent, no-one would have any idea you’ve just applied cream to your face.

£18.95 for 45g. Buy from Lush.com

The Lush website does a great job of detailing all the ingredients in each product, including what’s 100% natural and what is a safe synthetic so click on any of the Buy links for more information.

I’m getting on really well with this routine so far and none of the products seem to be irritating my face or neck (always remember to cleanse, tone and moisturise the neck, too), so my first experience with Lush skincare products gets an A+ from me!

3 comments

  1. Loved this blog post! Could you check out my blog post or maybe even follow? Thanks! Xx

    Like

  2. I think I’m discovering Lush the other way around. I started with their skincare products and I absolutely love them. I only recently started buying some of their other products (Dream Cream and Snow Fairy Body Conditioner – loving both). I often use Coal Face and Herbalism, with their Tea Tree water, as well as Mask of Magnaminty and they are doing great things for my skin. I’m looking forward to buying the Vanishing Cream. Great list, and fantastic blog.

    Would you be interested in writing/sharing a couple of articles on Creators.co? I’d love to see more if this kind of content on the platform as we continue to branch out. Feel free to shoot me an e-mail for more information. You can find my contact details on my blog. Hope to hear from you.

    Like

  3. […] recently come out of a bad skin patch thanks to a trio of products from Lush (which you can read about here) so now it’s time for a new routine to step in and add back in the moisture that I’ve […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

