Salt of the Earth Crystal Deodorant (Classic)

There are 101 different reasons to make the move from a regular deodorant to a natural one; whether it’s for health reasons, the environment, or skin conditions, every one is just as valid as the next.

My change was born out of a combination of all three with an emphasis on the fact that regular aerosol deodorants (plus shaving) constantly made my underarms sore, irritable and bumpy.

To try and fix the problem I wanted to try a deodorant with as few ingredients as possible and really strip everything back to basics. That’s when Google took me in the direction of Salt of the Earth Crystal Deodorant which contains just one ingredient – Potassium Alum, a naturally occurring mineral salt which helps to limit the growth of odor-producing bacteria.

I must admit I was sceptical at first but it literally took one day of using the crystal deodorant to change my mind. I put some on straight out of the shower in the morning and by the end of the day my underarms were still bone dry and soft to the touch. I had no white marks and no flaky residue and, in fact, I felt like I had no deodorant on at all.

I’ve been using it for around a month now and not only is it holding up on the deodorant front, it’s also done wonders for my skin. The redness and bumpiness that I was convinced was permanent is now gone and even shaving is now easier and painless (finally!) so a 10 out of 10 from me.

NB: For those concerned about Potassium Alum vs Aluminium, there is a great article here on the difference between the two and why Potassium Alum is a safer alternative.

HOW TO USE & WHERE TO BUY

You need to apply this deodorant to damp skin so the easiest way to use it is just out of the bath or shower; apply liberally and let dry (it doesn’t take long). Alternatively you can just apply a little bit of water to the end of the stick and use from there. Make sure you dry the stick once you’re finished as it’ll stop the deodorant from crystallizing and will make it last much longer.

You can pick up the Classic stick from the Salt of the Earth website for £4.85.

Leave a Reply

